backONmyB.S. [review]

Busta Rhymes – “Back On My B.S.”

Back on My B.S. or B.O.M.B.S. is the eighth studio album from rapper Busta Rhymes. It was released on May 19, 2009.

This is one of the few Busta albums that I have been able to listen to from the first track to the last. I’m not saying it was easy, but it is do-able. I love his attitude about the rap game now and I love how he will never retire, but sometimes, guys just aren’t relevant. Regardless, it’s a solid effort from Mr. Rhymes and it gets a 2.5/5 from NextDoor ENT.

1] – “Wheel Of Fortune” – This is a cute little intro for the disc. Definitely something that I would expect from the old school Busta that would make me laugh rather than kill me with the quotables. The second half of the first track is a quirky beat by DJ Scratch that could’ve been rapped over a little better. But it gets the job done and the “chorus” should’ve been extended. They had a nice concept there.

2] – “Give Em What They Askin for” – Hopefully, this is the next single. It has that new New York sound that “the streets are fiendin’ for”. Ron Browz supplies the simple/loopy beat under Busta’s rhymes. No quotables here, but I’d rather dance to this than “Arab Money”. The live version of this track is also a lot better. Mr. Rhymes is the king of crazy and you know he will hype this one up for no reason.

3] – Respect My Conglomerate” (feat. Lil Wayne & Jadakiss) – I don’t know what it is, but I love this beat. Focus puts that little touch on it that makes it seem like a funky robot was grooving out. Weezy F has a verse that most Wayne stans have heard before, but regardless, it was necessary to save Busta’s spazz attack he had on the first part of the song. The chorus still gets me. You have to give it up to a man that can make a song using the word “conglomerate”. Oh and yeah, Jadakiss is still better than most of your favorite rappers.

4] – “Shoot for the Moon” – The only song by my personal favorite Danja is extremely dissappointing. You can tell Busta didn’t feel like shelling out that arab money to get top notch production from Timbo’s second in command. It started off hot with the drum pattern, but the overly aggressive synths didn’t cut it for me. The little whisper flow wasn’t doing it for me either. The chorus is also quite annoying. Good message, bad execution.

5] – Hustler’s Anthem ’09” (feat. T-Pain) – This is a new intro to the track that I had never heard before. Also, the album version sounded a lot emptier than I remember the previous ones released. No complaints because Teddy kills the hook and Busta kills the Pass The Corvesior flow. Old school feel with an old school video. Ty Fyffe killed the beat. The switch-ups throughout the song are excellent.

6] – “Kill Dem” (feat. Pharrell & Tosh) – This started off with so much promise. A few bars with the rasta flow would’ve been perfect. Busta commits overkill here though and the chorus is mad annoying. Sometimes, annoying jamaican hooks can work in the clubs, but this is just offensive and hideous. I can’t wait for the instrumental though. Pharrell is coming back hard with these beats.

7] – “Arab Money” (feat. Ron Browz) – Worst song ever. Ron Browz, go fuck yourself.

8] – “I’m a Go and Get My…” (feat. Mike Epps) – I think they could’ve come up with a better title, but this track is fire. Scratch comes through again with an offbeat/onbeat track. It feels misplaced, but it works perfectly. At this point, the lyrics don’t ever matter. But Mr. Rhymes come through as hard as he can. And yes, Mike Epps features on your rap album are still cool.

9] – “We Want In” (feat. Ron Browz, Flipmode Squad, Spliff Star & Show Money) – Ron Browz, go fuck yourself again. You don’t even sing. But regardless, this is a nice little posse cut beat. If only the rest of Busta’s posse knew how to rap. And why are Busta’s ad-libs so much louder than everyone else’s? Engineer fail. I know he likes it that way, but I don’t appreciate being screamed at when the song itself sucks already.

10] – “We Miss You” (feat. DeMarco & Jelly Roll) – Wasn’t this a song already? Demarco can’t really sing, but he makes it work, I guess? This isn’t the last of the debacle that is Jelly Roll either. He fucks up another track in a bit too. I’m sure BR meant to come with some inspiration lyrics here, but failed miserably. He went on some Weezy shit and forgot what the song was supposed to be about.

11] – “Sugar” (feat. Jelly Roll) – Fire drum pattern. I expected something much more when I heard that first guitar come in. Jelly Roll = the next Ron Browz. Good beats to move to, but yo, you can’t sing. And yes, “I wanna taste your face”, is a line in the song.

12] – “Don’t Believe Em” (feat. Akon & T.I.) – Hurt pt.2. This track is typical Akon/Cool ‘N Dre single material. It’s just a solid beat. “We Made It” is a million times better though. Chester > Akon.

13] – “Decision” (feat. Jamie FoxxMary J. BligeJohn Legend & Common) – Easily the best song on the cd. Huge names. Huge voices. And just when you think the soul has ended, Common comes through and kicks you in the face. I would have rather had more of this track than Busta’s “club bangers”.

14] – World Go Round” (feat. Estelle) – This song doesn’t match with the rest of the disc at all. It’s awesome and it is the best dance song on here, but it’s weird. Fast flow from Busta and Estelle kills the chorus. And once again, a great beat from Jelly Roll. He has a future behind the boards, but not in the booth. No quotes here, but if it’s Friday night, this is on my playlist.

one love,

stbizzle fo schizzle

~ by StB on May 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
